Born To Be Worn by S & T Creations

Copper & Crystal Bracelet

Posted on: August 21, 2011

I was working with some copper wire this weekend, trying to work out a bracelet design I had in my head.  I thought the end result, especially with no pattern and no true measuring, came out really well!

I started with square wire from A Beaded Affair.  That’s the frame.  I didn’t want to solder, so I knew I had to wrap it to create the piece.  I measured the wire for 6 inches around, an inch wide, then left about 2 inches for the curves in the center that I could wrap together, adding beads in to finish the design.

I make the 90 degree square corners and then marked the open wire side where the 2 wires overlapped.  That’s where I began curving them inside.  I started with a pair of curving “pliers” I have and then continued, making curves larger until they just touched. Those open curves created the spaces I would eventually fill in with beads.

I grabbed 22 g copper wire and began wrapping, starting with the very center, where my 2 curved ends met.  Once those were solidly wound, I moved to where each curve touched the solid wire on the other side.  I wrapped those, always being sure to keep the coils tight, as straight as possible and close together.  With it wired together, I could begin fitting in crystals.

This was a lot of freeform too.  I didn’t have a pattern nor any end goal in mind.  I basically found the crystals that fit the spaces I wanted to fill and wired in 1 at a time.  I love the 2 oval ones in the center of the swirl. And I liked the way crossing over one wire with another let me fill in more of the negative space with glittery AB Swarovski crystals!

1 Response to "Copper & Crystal Bracelet"

Hey Teri! Cute bracelet. Love the sparkle of the swarovski’s and you know I love copper wire. Really nice job and I think someone could even follow your directions to make one too.
Happy Wrapping,
Lois

Leave a Reply

Subscribe in Google Reader

Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Pin It!

Support Independent Creativity!

Support Independent Creativity!

ArtBeads Design Partner

Bead Soup Blog Party

I've joined the Blog Party

I'm a Bead Soup Partier!

AllTop

Alltop, all the top stories

Blog Directory

BlogHints

Blog Directory

Blog Catalog

