Born To Be Worn by S & T Creations

Jewelry Designs from Nature

Posted on: September 9, 2011

  Heather Powers has created another great beading book!  As you may know, I do love designs that have pieces that mimic nature.  Shells, starfish, and ocean glass are all lovely to me, as well as leaves, acorns, feathers, butterflies, ladybugs, and more.  I’m not partial to flowers, in general, but every once in a while something will catch my eye and I’ll work with it.

One of the unusual things in this book that I found fascinating were the glimpses of Heather’s sketchbook.  Since I don’t design that way, I love to look at other’s sketches to see how they come upon a design.  Then, you can actually see her transform her sketch into reality.  Other designs show how she took colors from nature and put them in her design, whether it was a gorgeous flower, a beautiful sunset, or the colors of the ocean.

One of the things to remember about nature and designs that focus upon it, is the great use of alternative metals.  Lots of patinas, brass, bronze and copper abound in this book.  Several examples of unusual findings, and also ways to create your own wire frame for a bead or for a short row of them.  And Heather has several examples of breaking that old rule of only type of metal in a design.  She mixes gold and brass, vintage copper patina with new copper links.  In Jewelry Designs from Nature you will also see examples of how Heather incorporates words, either with stamped metal or with combinations of resin/decoupage, into these works that mimic reality.  The messages can be subtle or bold, and are flanked by birds, leaves and dragonflies.

I believe this is one of the first books where I have been more interested in the “how” the author came up with the design, than in the actual instructions for the end result.  I want to leave you with a quote from Heather, “My jewelry is more than just adding a bead to a string; each piece speaks to me of the wonders of the world.”

Leave a Reply

