Born To Be Worn by S & T Creations

Can you identify this?

Posted on: September 13, 2011

I saw the neatest “stuff” at an artist mercantile store in French Lick Indiana this weekend and would love to play with some in my own designs, but I have no idea what it is.  The store owner called it “clay” and said the artist gets it really hot, in hot water, and then forms it.  It is very metallic, lots of cool colors, and reminded me or ribbon or cord.

12 Responses to "Can you identify this?"

This looks really cool. Have you found out what it is yet?

Yes it is friendly plastic, and is very cool to work with.

Yes, this is called friendly plastic, it is really fun to work with.

I haven’t the foggiest what it is but it looks really cool. Can’t wait to see what you do with it. What company manufactures it?
Lois
http://www.abeadedaffair.com

My guess is that it’s Friendly Plastic. Here’s a link to a blog about using it:
http://friendlyplastic.blogspot.com/

HTH,
Sherry

It reminds me of the friendly plastic stuff from the 90’s.

Hey T,

Try this link. It’s actually called Friendly Plastic but works as a clay when heated in water. Can be heated several different ways and comes in sheets, sticks and pellets.

http://www.amaco.com/files/fp-bible-tools-materials.pdf

It’s Friendly Plastic made by Amaco.

Thanks so much! I would never have believed it was any sort of plastic, much less the “old” friendly plastic I remember as a kid. These designs are gorgeous and definitely way beyond kid stuff. She really knows how to color it and create a great, almost leather look. I will have to try this sometime. (one more thing on my list!). Thanks to everyone.

Teri

Yep that would be friendly plastic!

Glad to see you have so many followers who know what this material is! It is available locally in Indianapolis at Brickyard Ceramics, or you can find it on our website.

The pieces you saw are gorgeous – I’d love to know who made them.

Yes, it’s great that my readers know what they are looking at! I simply love what this artist is accomplishing with such a simple item! I am going to be trying this as soon as I can locate a good source for it. Michael’s doesn’t carry it, so I’m hoping for Hobby Lobby.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe in Google Reader

Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

Pin It!

Support Independent Creativity!

Support Independent Creativity!

ArtBeads Design Partner

Bead Soup Blog Party

I've joined the Blog Party

I'm a Bead Soup Partier!

AllTop

Alltop, all the top stories

Blog Directory

BlogHints

Blog Directory

Blog Catalog

